Sonata Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've read through the threads on here I could find about the HID's but I still have a few questions.

I'm new to Hyundai, actually I just purchased the car and should be getting it tomorrow if the title comes in on time. I almost put HID's in my car a few years ago but didn't have money for projectors and knew the HIDs would ruin the stock housings.

So what I'm wondering is if these factory housings can realistically actually stand up to the increased heat of HIDs? If they can, is it just because they are projectors? I'd hate to ruin a car right when I buy it...

Also, the fog lights obviously aren't projectors, so is there a lot of free light and glare out of them when the HIDs are installed? I've seen all the pictures and they look beautiful but I don't want to be the guy driving down the road blinding people. That's annoying, never mind a safety hazard.

Pardon my "nubishness"

**Edit** 2011 Hyundai Sonata Limited **Edit**

·
Registered
109 Posts
Prepare for a long post but hopefully this will help you:

I am/was in your situation. After researching and researching, I have finally ordered 2 sets of 6000K HID's with HID Relay Harnesses for both (H7 Lows/H8 Fogs) from DDM Tuning. My concern when looking was if the sonata is canbus. It's not. Only the EUROPEAN models of the sonata were/are canbus related.

Almost everyone will say HIDs are not recommended in stock housings. I've had HID's in my low/fogs in my 04 accord with NON projectors for 3 years and they are still working as we speak with the new owner in NC. I also installed 8000k DDM HID's in my wife's 07 tiburon (which has projector lows/fogs) and never had an issue with them either.